Socially Awkward

With all these social networks, internet sites, and technical gadgets, it’s hard to find a healthy balance for life, work, and most important God. This post was inspired by a conversation I’ve had with many of my close friends. I believe it’s important to discuss this because I have literally seen couples go out and friends hang out where they spent the entire evening with their head down looking at their phone or tablet. We use these social networks to connect with people but we have a hard time connecting with people organically.

I’ve noticed in our culture we are so dependent on our cell phones, ipods, ipads, etc. It’s almost ridiculous of the panic I experience when I leave my phone. I seriously had to step back and realize how rude these gadgets have made us:

  • at  dinner with friends, we text other people and  log on to IG (instagram) &/or FB (facebook)
  • at an event, we will tweet during the entire production
  • we don’t invite people over anymore, we make a FB status
  • we don’t call to check on our aunt who lives 200miles away, we make a post on her wall
  • we now use social media to check on everyone instead of personally calling them
  • can’t even enjoy a meal unless IG  gets to see it first

Seriously, we have all have become so consumed with social media, that no one or nothing has all of our attention anymore. Social media has seriously changes my social life. Am I the only one that notices how we can’t construct sentences anymore? Spelling has been monopolized by acronyms, and there are some people whom I only know by their username. My question is have we started to worship or idolize these social networks? We are so concerned with how many likes this pic has or how many followers I have on this site that we lose focus on what’s REALLY important.

Worship: (noun) The reverent love and devotion accorded a deity, an idol, or a sacred object. OR (verb) To regard with ardent or adoring esteem or devotion.

Idolize: (verb) To regard with blind admiration or devotion or to worship as an idol.

dfb0d1a76dd300c48129e3e831c95422

Let’s not forget that we cannot put anything before God. We do not want to replace Him even if it is indirectly. For me personally, I started a rule (that I have major difficulties to keep) to where I will only log into social media after I’ve had my alone time with God.

Peace and Blessing

-Grace

Deuteronomy 6:5 (NKJV): You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength

1 Corinthians 10:14 (NKJV):Therefore, my beloved, flee from idolatry.

Colossians 3:5 (ESV): Put to death therefore what is earthly in you:sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry.

This entry was posted in Life, Worship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

